Production Project Session 3

Texting
“Texting” by Joi is licensed under

SUMMARY

Role: Director

Intention (SMART Goal)

By January 28th, as part of my film team, I will explore the director role by following “17 Practical Tips for Becoming a Successful Film Director” guide to use quality blocking to tell a better story.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Steven Spielberg

He is a very successful and noticeable director with a lot of experience.

Training Source(s)

https://medium.com/musings-by-ty-leisher/17-practical-tips-to-becoming-a-successful-film-director-27fbb4a7611c

Project Timeline

  • Brainstorm plot (3) and create Storyboard (3)
  • Create slideshow presentation (1)
  • Write script including setting and dialogue between two actors (5)
  • Decide shooting location (3) actors (2)
  • Procure cameras (2) and sound capture equipment (2)
  • Build timeline for pre-production, production, and post-production(3)
  • Write shot list including camera angles (3)
  • Film the scene with 3 cameras (8)
  • Capture sound/compose music (8)
  • Upload film and sound (3)
  • Label shots and sound files (2)
  • Decide which takes to use or discard (5)
  • Capture ADR of dialogue between the 2 actors (5)
  • Edit shots together (8) and layer music/sound (5)
  • Present slideshow (2) and present film (1)

Proposed Budget

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The Film

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PNUWgnbCwKg49lPW3PcSeKDGFs4Hqupn/view?usp=sharing

Skills Commentary

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1PYmbbQuxEf7r5ITvPufrFAbPtRVOaJFowGN4WrtPO2c/edit?usp=sharing

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

I was a critical thinker and problem solver as we had to change the scrip and make sure the final product still turned out well. I had to be mindful of everyone on the team and work from a distance due to covid.

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I was able to think creatively as I had to find ways to communicate with my team and help create a film from a distance since I was absent for most of the film. I had to use critical thinking to figure out what to do since I was directing.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I communicated with my group and collaborated to ensure every part of the film was done with quality to produce a nice film in the end. it was important for me to stay engaged even though I was not actually present for a fair amount of the film so communication was key.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used time during pre-production to research the role of director. I was able to find examples of successful and good directors so I could learn from them. I also found helpful hints and techniques that I could use during the film process.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

Our group was able to overcome troubles in able to create a quality film. I had previously worked with two of my group members which helped in order with communication.

Reactions to the Final Version

“I think it worked well to have a dark background with the bright lighting to set the mood” -Kenny

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I liked the final version. I wish the film location was a little more realistic since it was just a dark room. Also, our team did a great job collaborating especially dealing with many people being gone at times. I really liked the final version. I love how my team was able to all work together to create an even better version of what we discussed. I was surprised to view all the decisions I had made and what others had chosen.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned that you have to give very clear instructions or people can take what you say the very wrong way. I still like how the film turned out. Communication with my team was difficult at times since I was absent for a lot of the production process.

Grammar and Spelling

I used Grammarly for spelling and grammar.

Editor

Moira

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *