Production Project – Session 2

School Bus

“School Bus” by Proudlove is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

SUMMARY

Role: Cinematographer

Intention (SMART Goal): to have realistic lighting and high quality videos

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0932336/?ref_=nmls_hd

Gordon Wills is a cinematographer who died in 2014 after working on many award winning films.

Training Source(s)

https://www.studiobinder.com/blog/cinematography-techniques-no-film-school/

Project Timeline

Nov 1-5: Research and training

Nov 8-12: Pre-production

Nov 9-15: Production

Proposed Budget

PRODUCTION – ACTION

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1iYTyrw12Vb8R0aZ-C0X0sdVBvGcOR3iV/view?usp=sharing

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

A student gets their foot stuck in glue. If they don’t get it out in time, they will miss their bus.

Skills Evidence

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/129oJ3AYeXKWuz-SfCQPcDKh8mSzDqz4IWO_vXXMdbSk/edit?usp=sharing

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I was able to use my creativity, thinking, and problem solving to make sure I fulfilled my role in the filming process. I problem solved when we had difficulties with having our “glue” show up on camera and came up with the idea to use light to highlight the glue.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I communicated with the group to make sure we were all on the same page and working together well especially while we were filming each scene. In our group, communication was crucial to creating a quality product. We started every day with talking about what we needed to accomplish and continued to talk about our goals and plans throughout the workday.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I took time during the pre-production process to research famous cinematographers who I could potentially learn from. I also learned how to use a camera for intentional focus and additional lighting sources. I researched tips and tricks for cinematographers in order to learn from others who already are successful with skills in that area.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

In the real world, using lighting is a useful skill. I can now apply lighting for photos , videos, and presentations in a professional setting. In this film, being the cinematographer prepared me for future videos and planning.

Reactions to the Final Version

“I like how you used the light to really make the glue stand out” -Merja

In order to make the glue noticeable in the film, we used additional lighting to put a spotlight on the glue.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I liked how our group was able to show the stress Emma was feeling when getting stuck in glue. The stress is shown through her acting, the editing, and the overall emotion of the film. I wish we would have included images of the clock showing the time passing to show the urge to get to the. This would have helped to communicate the situation present. I also wish I had incorporated more intentional focus to emphasize characters and show more professionalism.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

I learned how to use additional lighting for the purpose of getting clear and specific light for the film. I also learned I also learned how to focus a camera and use intentional focus. As a creative person, I am now able to effectively combine intentional lighting and focus to film better films.

In our film, we had to make sure Emma appeared concerned about time and felt pressure for getting her foot unstuck. The film needed the scenes to show the stress and importance of getting help with the glue.

Grammar and Spelling

I used Grammarly Premium to check and correct my grammar and spelling.

Editor

Moira K

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *