Week 9 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 1

“Day 092/366 – To Do List” by Great Beyond is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Your toughest work is defining what your work is! –  Peter Drucker

SUMMARY

This week I got assignments done for other classes. I learned some good habits like setting timers to take breaks.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

Image of David Allen at TED Talk
Screenshot from David Allen TED Talk

STEP 1: MAKE A LIST

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  • 3 questions about the IA for business management
  • Business management reading
  • Drawing for literature
  • Math homework due Wednesday
  • Historian Questions
  • List of supporting documents for business management IA
  • Optional questions for Chem
  • Revisions for Chem quiz

STEP 2: NOTICE WHAT YOU NOTICED

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  • Drawing for Literature
  • 3 questions about the IA
  • Business management reading
  • Math homework
  • Historian questions
  • Revisions for Chem quiz
  • Optional questions for Chem
  • List of supporting documents for business management IA

STEP 3: SET A TIMER

https://giphy.com/gifs/time-clock-konczakowski-d3yxg15kJppJilnW

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

David Allen image
Oct. 2020 Lucidchart interview with David Allen
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done

Getting to the top of the colorful list isn’t easy, but a good start is just thinking happy thoughts.

The GTD process can help you tame the crazy-busy dragon of modern life by starting from the beginning and understanding what is the cause of the dragon. Once you figure out where to start, you can begin the steps of erasing the issues. Just work through what needs to be done until the idea of the dragon is gone.

I thought the first 30 seconds of the video were very interesting. He simply explained the steps that should be easy and well known. The begging on the GTD process starts at the red at the bottom of the colorful picture. As you reach goals, you move up until everything is complete at the purple on top.

OPTIONAL EXERCISE – Literally, read the article and go for another walk 🙂

 Katia Verresen homepage
Katia Verresen, kvaleadership.com

“I coach C-suite executives and rising stars from the earliest startups to Fortune 100 companies. My passion is to help ambitious leaders achieve their full human potential.”  – Read more about Katia…

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned the importance of taking a break to just breathe. I so often will sit doing homework for extended periods of time forgetting to eat or drink water. The author of the story really emphasized setting timers to get things done but to also still take care of yourself.
  • I have solved the problem of when is the right time for me to work. I know I’m a morning person, but I find myself getting distracted and working at night instead. I know I need to make sure I do important work in the morning.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *